Connect with us


Chaos Erupts As McCarthy Loses Second Ballot To Be Speaker And GOP Rebels Vote For Jim Jordan



Kevin McCarthy

Chaos erupted in the House chamber on Tuesday after GOP Leader Kevin McCarthy fell short in his bid for the Speakership for a second time.

Nearly two dozen of his fellow Republicans voted against his bid to be House Speaker in the first round of the process and at least six Republicans voted for Rep. Jim Jordan in the California legislator’s place in the second round to deny McCarthy the House gavel.

McCarthy lost the first round of votes for the House Speakership earlier in the afternoon, kicking off a dramatic session that is expected to last hours.

Nineteen House Republicans backed someone other than McCarthy in the initial vote.

McCarthy ended up finishing second behind House Democrats’ new leader Hakeem Jeffries. The California Republican clinched 203 votes, while Jeffries won the support of all 212 members of his caucus.

It became apparent soon after the roll call vote began that McCarthy did not have the votes to outright win the gavel.

Audible gasps could be heard in the cavernous House chamber as more than a dozen Republican lawmakers stood in defiance of McCarthy’s bid.

Proceedings began with GOP Conference Chair Rep. Elise Stefanik nominating McCarthy, as expected, and Democrats’ new No. 3 Pete Aguilar naming the 118th Congress’ new Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries.

Then, far-right Rep. Paul Gosar stood to nominate GOP Rep. Andy Biggs – one of the original five Republican lawmakers to lead opposition to McCarthy.

It’s the first time in a century that a House Speaker was not elected on the initial round.


Shop Smart