Connect with us


These Are The 13 Republicans Who Joined Democrats To Pass Biden’s Infrastructure Bill



Republicans vote infrastructure bill

Thirteen House Republicans bucked party lines on Friday and joined Democrats to pass a massive $1.2 trillion infrastructure deal, a major bipartisan accomplishment that has the power to improve the lives of millions of Americans. The final vote was House 228-206.

The passage of the legislation provided President Joe Biden and Democrats a major victory despite fierce opposition from Republicans.

The Republicans who joined in voting in favor of the bill are: Reps Adam Kinzinger (Ill.), Jeff Van Drew (N.J.), Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio), Andrew Garbarino (N.Y.), Nicole Malliotakis (N.Y.), John Katko (N.Y.), Don Bacon (Ill.), Don Young (Ala.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Chris Smith (N.J), Brian Fitzpatrick (Penn.), David McKinley (W.Va.), and Tom Reed (N.Y.).

The Senate passed the infrastructure deal in August, but Democratic infighting delayed final vote for months as House progressives vowed not to vote for the public works bill before passing a separate $1.75 trillion social spending and climate package.

A deal was finally struck on Friday between the Congressional Progressive Caucus, moderate Blue Dog Democrats and Congressional Black Caucus on a vote for the bipartisan plan. The lawmakers also agreed to a written commitment that they’ll vote for the social spending plan so long as the CBO report lines up with economic estimates from the White House on the legislation.