Connect with us


McCarthy Suffers Historic Defeat In 10th Speaker Ballot



Kevin McCarthy

House GOP leader Kevin McCarthy appears to suffer a historic defeat in the 10th ballot for House speaker as even more of his Republican colleagues opposed his bid.

Mccarthy’s humiliating defeat came as a group of hardline Republicans is determined to deny him the House gavel, even after McCarthy reportedly proposed major concessions late Wednesday.

The current bid for House leadership is now the longest speaker contest in 164 years.

The House has no Representatives at the moment as no member of Congress can be sworn in until a House Speaker is elected.

In addition to McCarthy, these 3 lawmakers were nominated for House speaker in the 10th round of voting.

GOP Reps. Byron Donalds and Kevin Hern and Democratic Rep. Hakeem Jeffries were nominated along with Kevin McCarthy.


Shop Smart