Connect with us


Group Of GOP Senators Announce They Will Reject Electoral College Vote



As Congress prepares to certify President-elect Joe Biden’s electoral victory, nearly a dozen Republican senators announced Saturday they will join Donald Trump’s effort to challenge the election results by voting against counting electoral votes on January 6th, claiming election irregularities, CNN reports.

According to the report, the group includes Sens. Ted Cruz of Texas, Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, James Lankford of Oklahoma, Steve Daines of Montana, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, and Mike Braun of Indiana, and Sens.-elect Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming, Roger Marshall of Kansas, Bill Hagerty of Tennessee and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama.

The Republican senators said they intend to reject the Electoral College votes from multiple states until an “emergency 10-day audit” of the election returns in the “disputed states” is completed — despite no credible evidence suggesting widespread voter fraud in the 2020 election.

“A fair and credible audit—conducted expeditiously and completed well before January 20—would dramatically improve Americans’ faith in our electoral process and would significantly enhance the legitimacy of whoever becomes our next President. We owe that to the People,” they said in a statement.

Last week, 140 House Republicans said they will vote against counting the electoral votes in Congress.