Connect with us


Matt Gaetz, Under Investigation For Sex-Trafficking, Votes Against Anti-Human Trafficking Bill



Rep. Matt Gaetz

On Wednesday, 20 Republicans voted against a bill that would combat human trafficking. The legislation, called the Frederick Douglass Trafficking Victims Prevention and Protection Reauthorization Act of 2022, passed the House by a tally of 401-20. All votes against the bill came from Republicans.

Not surprisingly, Florida GOP Rep. Matt Gaetz, who is reportedly under federal investigation for sex trafficking allegations involving a minor, was among the GOP members who voted “no” on the bill.

As reported by The New York Times, Gaetz was accused of having a sexual relationship with an underage girl and paying for her travel.

The Florida Republican has denied any wrongdoing and suggested to the Times that the investigation is part of a scheme to extort him and his family.

Ninething other Republicans from the ultra MAGA caucus joined Gaetz in voting against the anti-trafficking bill.

Here are their names:

Rep. Lauren Boebert of Colorado
Rep. Mo Brooks of Alabama
Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia
Rep. Louie Gohmert of Texas
Rep. Paul Gosar of Arizona
Rep. Brian Babin of Texas
Rep. Andy Biggs of Arizona
Rep. Ken Buck of Colorado
Rep. Chip Roy of Texas
Rep. Vann Taylor of Texas
Rep. Andrew Clyde of Georgia
Rep. Andy Harris of Maryland
Rep. Jody Hice of Georgia
Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky
Rep. Tom McClintock of California
Rep. Mary Miller of Illinois
Rep. Troy Nehls of Texas
Rep. Ralph Norman of South Carolina
Rep. Scott Perry of Pennsylvania