Connect with us


Cruz, Hawley, McCarthy Hit With Massive Campaign Calling For Their Resignation



Republican Senators Ted Cruz (TX) and Josh Hawley (MO) and House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA) are among dozens of GOP lawmakers targeted by The anti-Trump Republican Accountability Project, which is kicking off a $1 million billboard campaign demanding their resignation for spreading lies about the 2020 election that “incited the Capitol attack” on Jan. 6.

“You lied about the election. The Capitol was attacked,” the billboards read. All of the lawmakers on the list voted Jan. 6 — hours after the Capitol insurrection — to reject state electors Joe Biden won in November as part of an effort to overturn the election results.

The effort is part of a larger $50 million campaign by a coalition of “Never Trump” groups, which plan to support GOP lawmakers who vote to impeach or convict former President Donald Trump in the House and Senate and to target Republicans who’ve continued to side with Trump.

The group said the billboard target list is composed of “people who are the most enthusiastic about lying to their constituencies about the election being stolen.”

Source; Republican Accountability Project.

Sarah Longwell, executive director of the Republican Accountability Project, told Politico that “the goal is to not allow these officials to memory-hole the fact that they pushed this lie, which incited the attack on the Capitol.”

“It took a lot of players within the Republican party to convince the vast majority of their voters that the election was fraudulent,” Longwell added. “We are here to be an institutional memory of what happened and who said what.”

The billboards will be placed in each House member’s district, as well as in multiple cities in Texas and Missouri targeting Cruz and Hawley. Thursday’s launch is the first phase of the $1 million campaign, with additional billboards set to launch soon after. Cruz and Hawley aren’t up for reelection until 2024.

The other Republicans targeted in the campaign are Reps. Devin Nunes (Calif.), Elise Stefanik (NY), Jim Jordan (Ohio), Louie Gohmert (Texas), Madison Cawthorne (NC), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA), Matt Gaetz (FL), Mo Brooks (AL), and Dan Bishop (NC)